Publishing and Unpublishing YouTube Videos

By Rob Ciampa, Theresa Moore, John Carucci, Stan Muller, Adam Wescott

As a YouTube channel manager or content creator, your work may well be done when you’ve uploaded your videos and set the metadata. Publishing is all about configuring the privacy settings that are most appropriate for your users and clicking Save during the upload process or through Video Manager. For most channel managers, that means setting the video to Public at a specified time.

Always set your uploads to Private by default to avoid publishing before you’ve had the chance to set up metadata, shortlinks, and other parts of the video.

Before you publish, YouTube provides several additional features to help audience engagement. You can

  • Edit videos without having to upload again

  • Add audio tracks

  • Add annotations

  • Set up captions and transcripts

After you’ve uploaded a video, you can’t simply replace it with another one and use the same video URL. If you need to remove a video from general viewing, you have two choices:

  • Unpublish it. Set it to Private and remove any Google+ shares.

  • Delete the video. Remove it from YouTube permanently.

You can only delete videos that you own. To delete a video:

  1. Log in to your YouTube account.

  2. On your YouTube page, click your channel icon and then choose Creator Studio from the menu that appears.

  3. Click the Video Manager section of Creator Studio.

    By default, it should go directly to the Videos submenu.

  4. To delete one video, click the down arrow of the Edit menu to the right of thumbnail of the video, and select Delete from the submenu that appears.

    You’re presented with a confirmation dialog box.

  5. Select Yes if you want to delete, or Cancel if you’ve made a mistake or changed your mind.

  6. To delete multiple videos, select one or more check boxes to the left of the thumbnails of the videos you want to remove, and then click the down arrow on the Actions menu at the top of the Video page and select Delete from the menu that appears.

    You’re presented (again) with a confirmation dialog box.

  7. Select Yes if you want to delete, or Cancel if you’ve made a mistake or changed your mind.

    The figure shows multiple videos selected for deletion.

    Deleting multiple videos from YouTube video manager.

    Deleting multiple videos from YouTube video manager.