The Degrees of the Scottish Rite, Southern Masonic Jurisdiction - dummies

The Degrees of the Scottish Rite, Southern Masonic Jurisdiction

The Southern Masonic Jurisdiction (SMJ) of the Scottish Rite essentially uses the same rituals that were written by Freemason Albert Pike in the 1860s. Pike wrote in Victorian times and liberally included Hebrew, Greek, and Roman mythology, as well as Greek and Latin phrases and biblical references that were readily understood in those days.

The SMJ rituals went through a revision starting in 1995 and finishing in 2000, but this was mostly done to eliminate repetition of lines, needlessly obscure references, and unnecessarily drawn out ceremonies. A few were also rearranged to put them in proper chronological order. Each degree can now be presented in about an hour, and the degrees were standardized so that all Scottish Rite valleys could use the same presentation materials.

The rituals retain the language and settings of Pike’s originals, and are referred to as the Revised Standard Pike Ritual.

This table lists the degrees of the SMJ.

The Southern Masonic Jurisdiction Degrees
Division Degree Number Degree Title
Lodge of Perfection 4 Secret Master
5 Perfect Master
6 Intimate Secretary
7 Provost and Judge
8 Intendant of the Building
9 Elu of the Nine
10 Elu of the Fifteen
11 Elu of the Twelve
12 Grand Master Architect
13 Royal Arch of Solomon (Knight of the Ninth Arch)
14 Perfect Elu (Grand Elect, Perfect and Sublime Mason)
Rose Croix 15 Knight of the East, of the Sword, or the Eagle
16 Prince of Jerusalem
17 Knight of the East and West
18 Knight of the Rose Croix
Council of Kadosh 19 Grand Pontiff
20 Master of the Symbolic Lodge
21 Noachite, or Prussian Knight
22 Knight of the Royal Axe (Prince of Libanus)
23 Chief of the Tabernacle
24 Prince of the Tabernacle
25 Knight of the Brazen Serpent
26 Prince of Mercy
27 Knight of the Sun (formerly the 28th degree)
28 Knight Commander of the Temple (formerly the 27th degree)
29 Scottish Knight of St. Andrew
30 Knight Kadosh
Consistory 31 Inspector Inquisitor
32 Master of the Royal Secret
Supreme Council 33 Inspector General