How to Restore the iPad mini to Its Original Settings
Sometimes an iPad mini has issues and needs you to restore it. First, connect your iPad to your computer as though you were about to sync. But when the iPad appears in the iTunes sidebar, click the Restore button on the Summary tab. This action erases all your data and media and resets all your settings.
If your computer isn’t available, you can also trigger this step from your iPad by tapping Settings→General→Reset→Erase All Content and Settings.
Because all your data and media still exist on your computer (except for photos you’ve taken, contacts, calendar events, notes, and On-the-Go playlists you’ve created or modified since your last sync, as noted previously), you shouldn’t lose anything by restoring.
Your next sync will take longer than usual, and you may have to reset settings you’ve changed since you got your iPad. But other than those inconveniences, restoring shouldn’t cause you any additional trouble.
Performing a restore deletes everything on your iPad — all your data, media, and settings. You should be able to put things back the way they were with your next sync; if that doesn’t happen, for whatever reason, you can’t say you weren’t warned. That said, you may still be able to restore from an iTunes or iCloud backup.