The 6 Snowy Biomes in Minecraft - dummies

The 6 Snowy Biomes in Minecraft

By Jesse Stay, Thomas Stay, Jacob Cordeiro

Minecraft has a total of six snowy biomes. Each one features snow and ice as main features, and add an interesting dynamic to the game. This list describes the snowy biomes:

  • Frozen River: This biome is characterized by its ice river, allowing you to harvest ice.

  • Ice Plains: This one has vast amounts of snow-covered plain, but few trees. It also has frozen rivers and lakes. And, it never rains — it only snows in the Ice Plains. Sugar cane grows naturally, but little else. Because of its difficulty level, many players leave this biome as soon as possible, in order to survive.

  • Ice Plains Spike: This beautiful and rare variation of the Ice Plains biome has frozen hoodoos creating a picturesque, though barren, landscape.


  • Cold Beach: In this interesting biome, ice plains and ocean intersect, creating a snow-covered plain, a sandy beach, and an ocean.

  • Cold Taiga: This winter wonderland features ferns, spruce trees, flowers, and wolves (and of course, snow).

  • Cold Taiga M: The M in its name stands for mountains. This biome has cold taiga with a mountainous terrain.