Ingredients to Question on a Gluten-free Diet - dummies

Ingredients to Question on a Gluten-free Diet

Part of Living Gluten-Free For Dummies Cheat Sheet (UK Edition)

Gluten can be found in some of the ingredients added to processed foods. Make sure you have a complete and accurate list of gluten-containing ingredients. With some ingredients you may to find out more about their source or consult an up to date Gluten-free Food and Drink Directory (such as that produced by Coeliac UK) before deciding whether a product containing it is gluten-free.

  • Oats and oat bran (may be contaminated during harvesting , storage or processing. May not be tolerated by some coeliacs. Always consult your healthcare team before introducing oats into your diet).

  • Malt and malt extract (usually made from barley and contains gluten; fine if derived from corn or rice).

  • Soy sauce (usually contains wheat).

  • Starch fillers (occasionally the starch filler in medications is derived from wheat).