Foods Once Thought Unsafe for a Gluten-Free Diet

Thanks to more definitive research and new labeling laws, the following ingredients are no longer considered risky in a gluten-free diet. You can safely ingest

  • Alcohol (distilled)

  • Caramel color

  • Citric acid

  • Dextrin

  • Flavoring extracts

  • Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)

  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)

  • Maltodextrin (except in pharmaceuticals)

  • Modified food starch

  • Mono- and diglycerides

  • Starch (in food)

  • Vanilla and vanilla extract

  • Vinegar (except malt vinegar)

  • Wheat grass

  • Yeast (except brewer’s yeast)

The gluten-free status of these ingredients applies to ingredients produced in the United States and Canada. Other countries may have different manufacturing processes.