What Are the SAG Awards and Who Won in 2012? - dummies

What Are the SAG Awards and Who Won in 2012?

Through its annual awards program, The Screen Actors Guild (SAG) celebrates individual and troupe performances in film and television. SAG Awards honor male and female actors in leading and supporting roles, as well as the casts of motion pictures and the ensembles within TV comedy and drama series.

The SAG Awards have been around since 1995, and the most recent broadcast of the televised ovation aired on TNT and TBS January 27, 2013. Nominees were announced mid-December 2012, after selection by 4,200 randomly chosen Screen Actors Guild members. The full 100,000+ SAG membership was invited to vote for outstanding performances.

The 19th annual SAG Awards went to Daniel Day-Lewis as lead male in the movie Lincoln; Jennifer Lawrence for her female lead in Silver Linings Playbook; Tommy Lee Jones for his supporting role in Lincoln; and Anne Hathaway as supporting actress in Les Misérables. The cast of Argo shared accolades for top performance in a motion picture.

Kevin Costner claimed the nod for “Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Television Movie or Miniseries.” Julianne Moore won the parallel prize for female acting. In TV drama series, Claire Danes (Homeland) and Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad) earned applause — and the coveted solid bronze statuette — for their celebrated performances. Alec Baldwin and Tina Fey both won for their comedic achievements in the 30 Rock series.

The ensembles of Downton Abbey and Modern Family gathered the most votes for their collaborative work in a drama and comedy series, respectively. The SAGs didn’t overlook the amazing feats of stunt crews in its laurels: “Outstanding Action Performance” was granted to the stunt ensemble in the movie Skyfall and in the TV series Game of Thrones.

In 2012, Dick Van Dyke joined an elite roster of Screen Actors Guild Life Achievement Award recipients. The tribute, “bestowed for outstanding achievement in fostering the finest ideals of the acting profession,” originated in the early 1960s. Over the decades, Bob Hope, Frank Sinatra, Katherine Hepburn, Robert Redford, Elizabeth Taylor, James Earl Jones, and 43 other names have been added to the roll call of recognition.