The 3 Basic Tasks of Grieving - dummies

The 3 Basic Tasks of Grieving

By Greg Harvey

Part of Grieving For Dummies Cheat Sheet

The grieving process is a unique experience for each individual person. You may see different models of mourning as presented by various grieving professionals. These models provide people with ways of viewing and understanding their grief, but are by no means applicable to every person or situation.

The grieving process is different for everyone. If your situation doesn’t fit into a prescribed model, don’t worry. Everyone experiences loss in their own way.

Here are the three fundamental tasks of grieving the loss of a loved one:

  1. Acknowledge the loss.

  2. Experience the grief that the loss produces.

  3. Incorporate the loss into the rest of your life.