Canadian History for Dummies
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

The following list shows the reigning kings and queens of what ultimately would become Canada, before and after the conquest of New France in 1763.

French (1534–1763) British (1763–present)
Francis I (1515–47) George III (1760–1820)
Henry II (1547–59) George IV (1820–30)
Francis II (1559–60) William IV (1830–37)
Charles IX (1560–74) Victoria (1837–1901)
Henry III (1574–89) Edward VII (1901–10)
Henry IV (1589–1610) George V (1910–36)
Louis XIII (1610–43) Edward VIII (1936)
Louis XIV (1643–1715) George VI (1936–52)
Louis XV (1715–74) Elizabeth II (1952–present)

About This Article

This article is from the book:

About the book author:

Will Ferguson has lived and worked in every region of Canada, from the Okanagan Valley of BC to the farmlands of rural Quebec, from Saskatoon to southern Ontario, from Manitoba to PEI.
He is the author of several bestselling books on Canadian history and culture, including the Leacock Medal for Humour-winning Beauty Tips from Moose Jaw (a travel memoir), and Bastards & Boneheads (a study in Canadian leadership styles). With his brother Ian, he wrote the wildly successful humour book How to Be a Canadian, which sold over 145,000 copies and won the Libris Award for Non-Fiction Book of the Year.
Will's debut novel Happiness (originally published under the title Generica) won the Leacock Medal for Humour and the Canadian Authors Association Award for Fiction. It has been published in 31 countries and 24 languages around the world.

This article can be found in the category: