Blood Pressure Classifications - dummies

By Alan L. Rubin

Part of High Blood Pressure For Dummies Cheat Sheet

When you have a blood pressure reading, the doctor will tell you two numbers: the SBP (systolic blood pressure) over the DBP (diastolic blood pressure). Use the following chart to compare your SBP and DBP numbers and classify your blood pressure. If your SBP and DBP fall into different categories, use the higher category. Note: mm Hg means millimeters of mercury.

Category SBP mm Hg DBP mm Hg
Normal Less than 120 and Less than 80
Prehypertension 120–139 or 80–89
High Blood Pressure
Stage 1 140–159 or 90–99
Stage 2 160 or greater or 100 or greater