Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages - dummies

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages

The bad news for beer drinkers is that beer, which is made with hops and barley, contains gluten. But lots of alcoholic beverages are gluten-free — and if you try, you can even find gluten-free beer.

The list of gluten-free alcoholic beverages is way longer than the list of off-limits drinks. Other forms of alcoholic beverages may be gluten-free in addition to these, but this list covers the basics of the booze you can use:

  • Bourbon

  • Brandy

  • Cider (occasionally contains barley, so be careful)

  • Cognac

  • Gin

  • Rum

  • Schnapps

  • Tequila

  • Vodka

  • Whiskey (such as Crown Royal and Jack Daniels)

  • Wine (and sparkling wine or Champagne)

Knowing what kinds of liquor you can consume can be confusing, because some alcoholic beverages are distilled from gluten-containing grains. However, as long as the drinks are distilled and the grains aren’t added back into the gluten-containing mash, the beverage remains gluten-free.