Provinces and Territories and When They Became Part of Canada

By Will Ferguson

Part of Canadian History For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Canadian confederation didn’t happen in a day. The provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia were the first to come onboard in 1867, but it wasn’t until 1999 that the territory of Nunavut was created. For quick reference, here’s a handy list of Canadian provinces and the year in which each joined confederation.

1867 Ontario, Québec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia
1870 Manitoba
1871 British Columbia
1873 Prince Edward Island
1898 Yukon Territory
1905 Alberta, Saskatchewan
1949 Newfoundland
1999 Nunavut