Pritzker Prize-winning Architects - dummies

Pritzker Prize-winning Architects

By Deborah K. Dietsch, Robert A. M. Stern

Part of Architecture For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Of all the awards related to architecture, the most prestigious is the Pritzker Prize. Established in 1979 by Jay and Cindy Pritzker, the cash ($100,000) prize is funded by the Pritzkers’ Hyatt Hotel Foundation and given annually to honor a body of work by a living architect. Candidates are selected through a process modeled after the Nobel Prize, with secret voting by an international panel of judges. The awards ceremony is held at architecturally significant sites around the world. Following is the list of the Pritzker Prize winners:

1979: Philip Johnson, United States 1990: Aldo Rossi, Italy 2001: Jacques Herzog and Pierre De Meuron, Switzerland
1980: Luis Barragan, Mexico 1991: Robert Venturi, United States 2002: Glenn Murcutt, Australia
1981: James Stirling, Great Britain 1992: Alvaro Siza, Portugal 2003: Jern Utzon, Denmark
1982: Kevin Roche, United States 1993: Fumihiko Maki, Japan 2004: Zaha Hadid, Iraq / Great Britain
1983: I.M. Pei, United States 1994: Christian de Portzamparc, France 2005: Thom Mayne, United States
1984: Richard Meier, United States 1995: Tadao Ando, Japan 2006: Paulo Mendes da Rocha, Brazil
1985: Hans Hollein, Austria 1996: Rafael Moneo, Spain 2007: Richard Rogers, United Kingdom
1986: Gottfried Boehm, Germany 1997: Sverre Fehn, Norway 2008: Jean Nouvel, France
1987: Kenzo Tange, Japan 1998: Renzo Piano, Italy 2009: Peter Zumthor, Switzerland
1988: Gordon Bunshaft, United States, and Oscar Neimeyer, Brazil 1999: Norman Foster, Great Britain 2010: Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, Japan
1989: Frank Gehry, United States 2000: Rem Koolhaas, Netherlands