Overview of the CompTIA Linux+ Exams - dummies

By Emmett Dulaney

The official name of the certification in question is “CompTIA Linux+ Powered by LPI” and although that’s a mouthful to say, it’s also a meaningful addition to a résumé. The certification is awarded by CompTIA; it consists of two exams by the Linux Professional Institute (LPI): LX0-101 and LX0-102.

Accordingly, at the time of taking the exams, a candidate can choose to have the test scores forwarded to LPI — and gain the Level 1 certification (LPIC-1) at the same time.

Records are separately maintained by LPI and CompTIA. If you choose not to forward your scores, you can be Linux+-certified but not LPIC-1 certified.

Each of the two exams consists of 60 questions that must be answered in 90 minutes. The passing score is 500 on a scale from 200 to 800, and it is highly recommended – but not required – that candidates have 12 months of Linux administration experience.

There are four domains on one exam and six on the other. The table shows the domains on each, along with their prospective weighting.

Domains on the Linux+ Exams
Exam Domain Weighting
LX0-101 101 System Architecture 14%
102 Linux Installation and Package Management 18%
103 GNU and Unix Commands 43%
104 Devices, Linux Filesystems, Filesystem Hierachy
LX0-102 105 Shells, Scripting, and Data Management 17%
106 User Interfaces and Desktops 8%
107 Administrative Tasks 20%
108 Essential System Services 17%
109 Networking Fundamentals 23%
110 Security 15%