How to Take Notes with Mavericks on Your MacBook

By Mark L. Chambers

Imagine a notepad of unlimited pages that’s always available whenever you’re around your MacBook, iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad. That’s the idea behind Notes, and it’s superbly simple! To open the application, click the Notes icon in the Dock, which resembles a familiar yellow notepad.

image0.jpg

You find the following salient stuff in the Notes window:

  • Search box: To hunt for a specific note, click in this box and type a search phrase or name.

  • Folders list: You can create new folders to hold specific kinds of notes. To add a new folder, choose File→New Folder or press ⌘+Shift+N, and then type the new folder name. To switch between folders, display the Folders list and click the desired folder. You can display or hide the Folders list from the View menu.

  • Notes sidebar: Each note you create appears as a separate entry in the sidebar. You can click a note to switch to it immediately.

  • New Note button: Click this button to add a new note. You can also right-click the sidebar and choose New Note from the shortcut menu. Notes uses the first line of text you type as the title of the note, which appears in the sidebar.

  • Note page: This free-form pane is where you type the body of your note. You can also drag images from a Finder window and include them in the body of the note, and even attach files by dragging them from a Finder window.

  • Share Note button: Open this pop-up menu to share the contents of the current note, just like the Share icon that appears on the Finder window toolbar. Sharing options include a new e-mail message, a new message in the Messages application, and new postings to Twitter and Facebook.

To edit a note, click it to select it in the sidebar, and then simply make your changes or additions in the Note page. Use the Format menu to format the text — everything from different fonts and colors to inserting bulleted and numbered lists.

To delete a note you no longer need, right-click it in the sidebar and choose Delete from the menu that appears. The application prompts you for confirmation before the deed is done.