How to Transfer Leads in Salesforce

By Tom Wong, Liz Kao, Matt Kaufman

You might need to transfer leads in Salesforce for a variety of reasons. For instance, after you set up your lead records in Salesforce, you need to give them to the right people on a different team. Or maybe some reps just weren’t following up, so you took their leads away after swatting their noses with a rolled-up newspaper.

To transfer leads, you must be an administrator or a user with Manage Leads and Transfer Leads permissions. If you want to reassign many leads at the same time, take these steps:

  1. From the Leads home page, select a view from which you can see some leads that you want to reassign.

    The list page appears.

  2. In the Action column of the lead list, select the check boxes to the left of the lead records that you want to assign to someone else.

  3. Click the Change Owner button at the top of the page.

    The Change Lead Owner page appears.

  4. Select the user or queue that you intend to reassign leads to, and then click Save.

    The lead list reappears, and the lead owners have been changed. The new lead owner can be optionally notified via e-mail of this ownership change. Just select the Send Notification Email check box before clicking the Save button.

If you’re an administrator, you can use the Mass Transfer Leads tool in Setup to accomplish the same goals of reassigning en masse.

If you’re reassigning one lead at a time, you can transfer ownership directly from a lead record. Follow these steps:

  1. On the lead record, to the right of the Lead Owner field, click the Change link.

    The link is in square brackets. The Change Lead Owner page appears.

  2. Select the user or queue that you’re assigning the lead to.

    You use this same page when you’re assigning multiple leads, but here, you can choose to notify the recipient with an e-mail.

  3. (Optional) Select the Send Notification check box to notify the new owner of the reassignment.

  4. When you’re done, click Save.

    The lead record reappears, displaying your ownership change.