Rugby For Dummies
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

While the basic aim of rugby is to score a try, players can get points on the board in many different ways. You can score points as follows:

  • A try is worth five points, which is the most number of points you can score at once.

  • A penalty try is worth exactly the same as a normal try — five points.

  • A converted try is worth seven points: Five points are awarded for the initial try and two more are awarded when the goal kicker kicks the ball over the crossbar.

  • A field goal earns the goal kicker’s team three points.

  • A penalty goal is worth three points.

About This Article

This article can be found in the category: