The Tudors For Dummies
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

The key stages in the development of Tudor government are marked by the passage of acts of Parliament. Indeed, the Tudors never claimed the right to make laws by any other means. Here are some of the more significant laws made by the Tudor monarchs:

  • 1489: Justices of the Peace

  • 1504: Statute of Liveries

  • 1510: Sumptuary Laws

  • 1533: Act of Appeals

  • 1534: Act of Supremacy

  • 1536: Franchises

  • 1536: Act for the Dissolution of the Monasteries

  • 1539: Act of Six Articles

  • 1547: Treasons Act

  • 1547: Dissolution of the Chantries

  • 1549: First Act of Uniformity

  • 1552: Second Act of Uniformity

  • 1553: First Act of Repeal

  • 1554: Heresy

  • 1554: Second Act of Repeal

  • 1559: Act of Supremacy

  • 1559: Act of Uniformity

  • 1563: Statute of Artificers

  • 1581: Against Reconciliation With Rome

  • 1585: For the Queen’s Surety

  • 1601: Poor Law

About This Article

This article is from the book:

About the book authors:

Professor David Loades is Professor Emeritus at the University of Wales and has taught history at universities including St Andrews and Durham. He has written many books on the Tudor period and is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

Mei Trow is a history tutor, lecturer and author who has written numerous historical books on topics ranging from Jack the Ripper to Boudicca. His recent TV work includes Ancient Discoveries and Spartacus for The History Channel.

This article can be found in the category: