How to Cancel Accountant's Changes to the Accountant's Copy - dummies

How to Cancel Accountant’s Changes to the Accountant’s Copy

By Stephen L. Nelson

Here’s a little question for you: What happens if the client gives you an accountant’s copy of the QuickBooks data file and then realizes that you won’t be making changes or that he or she doesn’t want to accept the changes? Bummer, right? Well, not really.

When a client creates an accountant’s copy of the QuickBooks data file, QuickBooks marks the client’s data file as one that can be modified through the accountant’s changes. QuickBooks does this in order to later allow the accountant’s changes.

But if those changes won’t be made, the client unmarks the data file as available for changes. To do this, the client chooses the File→Send Company File→Accountant’s Copy→Client Activities→ Remove Restrictions command. When the client chooses this command, QuickBooks displays a message indicating that the client is choosing to cancel out of accountant’s copy mode.

After the client chooses this command, the client won’t be able to import any changes created by using the canceled accountant’s copy.