Logged In with Facebook - dummies

By Carolyn Abram

The Logged In with Facebook section at the top of the App Settings page shows all the apps you’ve used, including websites where you’ve used Facebook to log in. Next to each app’s name in this list is the audience that can see that app on your Timeline. Click on the privacy icon or the pencil icon that appears when you hover your mouse over the app’s name to open the Edit App menu.

This figure shows the Edit App menu, where you can review and edit the information that the app can access as well as how the app can interact with your Facebook usage.

Edit-app
Edit app settings here.

There are several sections of this menu (including a few that you need to scroll down to see). Some of these sections have options you can change, and others are merely informative.

  • App Visibility and post audience: The Privacy menu here has the same options as any other Privacy menu. You can choose who can see both that you use a given app as well as any posts that app makes on your behalf.
  • Info You Provide to This App: This list of information shows what information from your Facebook account is currently being shared with the app in question. In addition to the information type (for example, Friend List or Education History) you can see examples of that information (for example, Oliver, Felicity, John; Tufts and Phillips Academy) as well as how recently that app has accessed that info. With the exception of your Public Profile (which includes your name, profile picture, age, gender, and any other publicly available info), you can stop sharing other types of info with an app by unchecking the blue circle next to it in this menu.
  • This App Can: This section lets you control whether or not an app can post to your Timeline on your behalf, and whether it can send you notifications. For the most part, apps only post to your Timeline when you have taken an action within the app (for example, adding a new book to your Goodreads list). If you don’t want the app to do this anymore, uncheck the blue circle. If you are receiving too many notifications from a particular app, you can use the menu here to make that stop. Simply use the menu next to Send you notifications to switch from Yes to No.
  • Learn More: This section provides links to learn more about different aspects of using apps. It also provides links to contact the developers of the app you are using. Remember, Facebook isn’t always the company that has built an app, so if you are having trouble using that app or want your info deleted, you will need to contact that company, instead of contacting Facebook.
  • Links: At the bottom of the Edit App menu, next to the Cancel and Save buttons, are a few links that may come in handy:
    • App Terms: This link takes you to the app’s Terms of Service.
    • App Privacy Policy: This link takes you to the app’s Privacy Policy.

    • Remove App: If you want to sever all ties with an app, you can click this link to remove it entirely from your Facebook experience. It won’t be able to access any of your info going forward.

    • Report App: You can use this link to report an app for things like spamming, abusive behavior or content, or for using your information inappropriately.