An Outline of the Ordinary Form of the Catholic Mass

By Rev. John Trigilio, Jr., Rev. Kenneth Brighenti, Rev. Monsignor James Cafone

The Ordinary form of the Catholic Mass is the normal or standard form of Mass with which most Catholics are generally familiar. The Ordinary form differs from the Extraordinary form and Tridentine Mass (sometimes called the Traditional Latin Mass).

The following list outlines the rites of the Catholic Mass from start to finish.

Introductory Rites

  • Greeting

  • Rite of Sprinkling or Penitential Rite

  • Confiteor

  • Kyrie

  • Gloria

  • Opening Prayer (Collect)

Liturgy of the Word

  • First Reading

  • Psalm

  • Second Reading

  • Gospel

  • Homily

  • Profession of Faith (Creed)

  • Prayer of the Faithful (General Intercessions)

Liturgy of the Eucharist

  • Preparation of Gifts (Offertory)

  • Offertory Prayer

  • Preface and Sanctus

  • Eucharistic Prayer

  • Pater Noster (Our Father or Lord’s Prayer)

  • Sign of Peace

  • Fraction Rite — Agnus Dei (Lamb of God)

  • Communion Rite

  • Prayer after Communion

  • Concluding Rite