How to Back Up Your Google Glass Media to Google+

Google automatically synchronizes all your pictures and videos to your Auto Backup album on Google+ when you plug your Glass into the charger and connect it to the Internet via Wi-Fi.

The Auto Backup folder is part of the Google Drive account that’s part of your Google account. You can find out more about Google Drive at Google Support.

Pictures and videos upload at their original resolutions, up to a maximum 4,288 by 2,848 pixels. Google provides 15GB of free storage space in the Auto Backup folder, which should be enough for most needs.

If the pictures in the Auto Backup folder occupy more than 15GB, Google automatically resizes the pictures to standard size: a maximum 2,048 pixels on the longest edge. This resizing frees some room in the Auto Backup folder for more files.

Google allows you to back up an unlimited number of videos to the Auto Backup folder as long as each video is less than 15 minutes long and has a resolution of 1080p or lower. (1080p resolution is 1,920 by 1,080 pixels.) If you back up videos that are longer than 15 minutes, those files count against your 15GB space quota.

So what happens if you need more space? You can get it — at a price, starting at $4.99 per month for 100GB. You can view the full storage plan and pricing list at Google.

If you don’t want to worry about maxing out your online storage space, you can also back up files to your computer. Just copy files from your Glass to a folder on your computer.

Accessing backed-up files

You can access synchronized files from the Google+ website on your browser or through the Google+ app on your Android or iOS device. When Glass is connected to the Internet through a Wi-Fi connection, you can also use these services to sync the pictures on your Glass to the Auto Backup album at any time.

In addition, you can use the Google+ app to move files from the Auto Backup folder to a Google+ folder that you share with Google+ contacts and/or circles.

Backing up manually (Android and iOS)

After you enable Auto Backup, the Google+ app uploads any pictures or videos you take with your smartphone or tablet to the Auto Backup folder automatically. When you sign out of the Google+ app, any pictures and videos that you take don’t upload to the Auto Backup folder.

You can upload those pictures and videos later by logging back in to Google+ and tapping Back Up All in the Google+ app screen.

image0.jpg