By Jamie Crager, Scott Ayres, Melanie Nelson, Daniel Herndon, Jesse Stay

If you decide Facebook ads just aren’t for you, no problem. When you close your Facebook ads account, any active ads, stories, and campaigns will cease and you won’t be able to create new ones. Facebook will charge any leftover balance to your credit card on file and then delete the card from your account.

If you think you may want to return to Facebook ads later, pause your account instead of closing it. To pause your account, click the Campaign and Ads link. From there, change the status of each ad, story, and campaign to Paused.

To close your Facebook ads account, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to Facebook’s Ad Manager or select the Ads Manager button at the top of the Insights page.

  2. Select the account in the left sidebar.

  3. Click the Settings link in the left navigation pane.

  4. Click the Close Ads Account link at the bottom-right corner.

    The Close Ads Account window appears.

  5. Select the reason(s) you’re closing your account (or type a reason in the text box labeled Other).

  6. Click the Close Ads Account button.

    It may take up to two days for Facebook to completely close out your account.