Catholic Mass For Dummies
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

The Ordinary form of the Catholic Mass is the normal or standard form of Mass with which most Catholics are generally familiar. The Ordinary form differs from the Extraordinary form and Tridentine Mass (sometimes called the Traditional Latin Mass).

The following list outlines the rites of the Catholic Mass from start to finish.

Introductory Rites

  • Greeting

  • Rite of Sprinkling or Penitential Rite

  • Confiteor

  • Kyrie

  • Gloria

  • Opening Prayer (Collect)

Liturgy of the Word

  • First Reading

  • Psalm

  • Second Reading

  • Gospel

  • Homily

  • Profession of Faith (Creed)

  • Prayer of the Faithful (General Intercessions)

Liturgy of the Eucharist

  • Preparation of Gifts (Offertory)

  • Offertory Prayer

  • Preface and Sanctus

  • Eucharistic Prayer

  • Pater Noster (Our Father or Lord’s Prayer)

  • Sign of Peace

  • Fraction Rite — Agnus Dei (Lamb of God)

  • Communion Rite

  • Prayer after Communion

  • Concluding Rite

About This Article

This article is from the book:

About the book authors:

Rev. John Trigilio, Jr. is President of the Confraternity of Catholic Clergy.
Rev. Kenneth Brighenti is an assistant professor at Mount St. Mary's Seminary.
Rev. Monsignor James Cafone is an assistant professor in the Religion Department of Seton Hall University.

This article can be found in the category: