Living Gluten-Free For Dummies, 3rd Edition
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

The bad news for beer drinkers is that beer, which is made with hops and barley, contains gluten. But lots of alcoholic beverages are gluten-free — and if you try, you can even find gluten-free beer.

The list of gluten-free alcoholic beverages is way longer than the list of off-limits drinks. Other forms of alcoholic beverages may be gluten-free in addition to these, but this list covers the basics of the booze you can use:

  • Bourbon

  • Brandy

  • Cider (occasionally contains barley, so be careful)

  • Cognac

  • Gin

  • Rum

  • Schnapps

  • Tequila

  • Vodka

  • Whiskey (such as Crown Royal and Jack Daniels)

  • Wine (and sparkling wine or Champagne)

Knowing what kinds of liquor you can consume can be confusing, because some alcoholic beverages are distilled from gluten-containing grains. However, as long as the drinks are distilled and the grains aren’t added back into the gluten-containing mash, the beverage remains gluten-free.

About This Article

This article can be found in the category: