SSAT and ISEE For Dummies
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

The SSAT (Secondary School Admission Test) explores your ability in a few distinct key areas. In fact, the SSAT focuses on only a few subjects, divided into four sections. With the exception of the Writing section, all questions on the test are multiple-choice.

Section Questions Time Limit
Writing Sample One writing prompt 25 minutes
Quantitative Two sections: 25 questions each, consisting of a mixture of different kinds of questions in each section 30 minutes for each section
Reading Comprehension One section: 40 questions based on about 7 reading passages 40 minutes
Verbal One section: 30 synonym questions and 30 analogy questions 30 minutes

The SSAT has two different versions: The lower level test and the upper level test. The only difference between the two levels of the SSAT is the difficulty. The lower level test questions are tailored for students currently in grades 5 through 7, and the upper level test is tailored for students currently in grades 8 through 11. Other than that, the tests are exactly the same in terms of the types of sections, number of questions, and time limits.

About This Article

This article is from the book:

About the book authors:

Vince Kotchian is an elite test-prep tutor and admissions consultant who has helped hundreds of students get into the schools of their choice. Curt Simmons is a professional educator and freelance writer who has authored several test-prep titles on a variety of topics, including many For Dummies titles.

This article can be found in the category: