Who Can See Things on Your Facebook Timeline?
There’s a difference between adding things to your Facebook Timeline, which the preceding settings control, and simply looking at your Timeline, which the settings in this section control. Three settings here concern what people see when they look at your profile.
- Review what other people see on your Timeline. This isn’t so much a setting as a link to the View As privacy tool. The View As tool allows you to look at your Timeline as though you’re someone else, thus double-checking that your privacy settings are actually working.
- Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your Timeline? After you’ve approved tags (or if you leave Timeline Review off), you can still decide who can see the content in which you’re tagged on your Timeline. In other words, if your Friend tags you in a photo, you can control who sees that photo on your Timeline. The idea behind this setting is that, although you will never post anything embarrassing to your Timeline, a Friend might (accidentally) do so. Making sure that not everyone can see that post (except other, more understanding friends) cuts down on any awkwardness.
To change this setting, click the Edit link on the right side of the page and then use the drop-down menu that appears to choose who can see this information.
- Who can see what others post on your Timeline? Another way to control the “embarrassing friend on your Timeline” problem is to limit who can see the posts your friends leave.
To change this setting, click the Edit link on the right side of the page and use the drop-down menu that appears to select who can see these posts.