Nonvegan Restaurant Guide for Servers and Chefs - dummies

Nonvegan Restaurant Guide for Servers and Chefs

By Alexandra Jamieson

Part of Living Vegan For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Going out to eat can be challenging to a new vegan. Hidden nonvegan ingredients lurk behind every menu item, and servers may not know exactly what the chef is cooking into each dish. You can use this handy list as a friendly guide. Simply print this page and cut out the following list to offer to your server the next time you go to a nonvegan restaurant:

Hi! I’m vegan and CAN’T eat:

  • Butter or cream

  • Eggs

  • Cheese from cows or goats

  • Milk from cows or goats

  • Meat, poultry, lamb, or beef

  • Fish, shellfish, shrimp, or lobster

  • Gelatin

  • Honey

I CAN eat:

  • All fruits

  • All vegetables

  • All herbs and spices

  • Beans

  • Soy-based protein like tofu and tempeh

  • Grains

  • Pasta (that’s not made from eggs)

  • Olive oil