How to Invite People to Your Google Group

By James T. Cains

What good is a Google group without other people to talk to? If you’ve created a group that’s open, then you can wait for others with similar interests to find your group and join. But if you’ve created a closed group — for example, for a business project — you need to invite others to join the group.

Follow these steps to invite people to your group:

  1. After logging in to your Google account and going to your Google group, click Manage in the upper right.

  2. In the left navigation, click Members and then choose Invite Members. You see the Invite Members screen (see Figure 1).

  3. In the top field, type in or copy and paste the e-mail address of those you want to invite. Separate each e-mail address with a comma.

    • You can invite as many people as you want.

    • Invitees must have Google accounts to participate.

  4. In the bottom field, type in a message to your invitees. Your group’s name, description, and URL are automatically included in the e-mail invitation, so this message can be something different than that. Your message can be up to 1,000 characters.

  5. Click the Send Invites button at the top. Your invitations are sent to the recipients.

Your recipients will receive an e-mail inviting them to the group. They must click the Accept This Invitation button to join the group.

Figure 1: Invite members to your group.

Figure 1: Invite members to your group.

Source: google.com

Invitations are good for seven days. If someone doesn’t accept an invitation with that timeframe, you’ll have to resend the invitation. To do so, click Outstanding Invites in the left navigation, check the box of the invited member, and click the Resend Invitation button. You can also revoke an invitation for whatever reason.

You can also directly add people without sending an invite. Click Direct Add Members in the left navigation and follow the same steps above. However, be careful when using this option. Make sure the members know that you’re adding them, because as soon as you add them, they will begin receiving e-mail messages from the group. If you add people who don’t know or don’t want to participate, then you could have your account deactivated for spamming.