Scrum For Dummies
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

An agile scrum has three tangible deliverables, called artifacts. In agile project development, these artifacts consist of the requirements for the overall project, the requirements for each piece of the project, and the project itself:

  • Product backlog: The full list of requirements, often documented as user stories, that defines the product. The product backlog can be fluid throughout the project. All scope items, regardless of level of detail, are in the product backlog.

  • Sprint backlog: The list of requirements and tasks in a given sprint. The product owner and the development team select the requirements for the sprint in sprint planning, with the development team breaking these requirements down into tasks. Unlike the product backlog, only the development team can change the sprint backlog.

  • Product increment: The usable product. Whether the product is a website or a new house, the product increment should be complete enough to demonstrate its working functionality. A scrum project is complete after a product contains enough shippable functionality to meet the customer’s business goals for the project.

About This Article

This article can be found in the category: