Hinduism For Dummies
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

Reiki is an ancient form of Japanese healing that is practiced by many practitioners around the world. There is an omnipotent energy that gives life to every living thing, and the Japanese call this “Ki.” It is also known as Chi by the Chinese, Prana by a number of Asian cultures, and most of the western world refers to it as the Holy Spirit.

Chakras, a Sanskrit language word meaning “wheel of life,” are energy centers found throughout the body. The position of each of the major chakras corresponds with an endocrine gland controlling hormonal balance. These chakras are located at the base of the spine (root chakra), between the genitals and naval (sacral chakra), a couple of inches above the naval (solar plexus chakra), the center of the chest (heart chakra), middle of the neck (throat chakra), just above the brow area (third-eye chakra), and top of the head (crown chakra).

[Credit: ©iStockphoto.com/PeterHermesFurian]
Credit: ©iStockphoto.com/PeterHermesFurian

Chakras represent specific aspects of the conscious being and their main functions and characteristics are as follows:

  • Root chakra

    • Color: Red

    • Body Parts: Adrenal glands, kidneys, spinal column, leg bones

    • Function: Grounds you physically.

    • Imbalance: Afraid of life, feel victimized, selfishness, prone to violence; low back, feet, and leg pain

  • Sacral chakra

    • Color: Orange

    • Body parts: Gonads, prostate gland, reproductive system, spleen, bladder

    • Function: Deals with creativity, sexuality, and emotions

    • Imbalance: Overuse of food, sex, or alcohol; sexual or reproductive disorders; confusion, jealousy, and self-esteem issues.

  • Solar plexus chakra

    • Color: Yellow

    • Body parts: Pancreas, liver, digestive tract, stomach, spleen, gall bladder, autonomic nervous system

    • Function: Intellect and is known as the seat of personal power

    • Imbalance: Insecurity about financial matters; need to control others; digestive disorders

  • Heart chakra

    • Color: Green

    • Body parts: Thymus gland, heart, lower lungs, circulatory system, skin, hands

    • Function: Bridge between the physical and spiritual worlds; center of emotional well-being and love

    • Imbalance: Sad feelings, fear, anger, and can lead to heart disease

  • Throat chakra

    • Color: Blue

    • Body parts: Thyroid gland, throat and jaw areas, lungs, vocal cords, digestive tract

    • Function: Communication and mental creativity

    • Imbalance: Communication breakdowns, overindulgences in eating and drinking to keep from speaking the truth; respiratory diseases, dental problems, and low self-esteem as well as anger, hostility, and resentment

  • Third-eye chakra

    • Color: Indigo

    • Body parts: Pituitary gland, lower brain, left eye, ears, nose, central nervous system

    • Function: Intuition and clairvoyance; ability to visualize and manifest

    • Imbalance: Fear of dreams, headaches, insomnia, anxiety, and depression

  • Crown chakra

    • Color: Violet

    • Body parts: Pineal gland, upper brain, right eye

    • Function: Direct connection to spirit

    • Imbalance: Loneliness, need to compare ourselves to others, fear of death

By placing the hands over the corresponding seven major chakra centers that are experiencing any of the imbalances mentioned and performing Reiki, these centers can be rebalanced leading to better health.

[Credit: ©iStockphoto.com/Stills]
Credit: ©iStockphoto.com/Stills

Reiki can be effectively performed only by someone who has been trained and attuned by a Reiki Master.

About This Article

This article can be found in the category: