Living Wheat-Free For Dummies
Book image
Explore Book Buy On Amazon

Spotting wheat in an ingredients list can be more difficult than it may appear. Wheat has many different forms and names and can appear multiple times in the same list. Acquainting yourself with the following list as you start your new lifestyle makes your trip to the grocery store much easier. As you become more comfortable with your wheat-free lifestyle, you'll develop a repertoire of go-to foods, and this list will become less important.

  • Barley grass (because of cross-contamination)

  • Bulgur (a form of wheat)

  • Durum, durum flour, durum wheat

  • Einkorn

  • Emmer

  • Farina

  • Flour (including all-purpose, cake, enriched, graham, high-protein or high-gluten, and pastry)

  • Farro

  • Fu

  • Kamut

  • Seitan (made from wheat gluten and commonly used in vegetarian meals)

  • Semolina

  • Spelt

  • Sprouted wheat

  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)

  • Triticum aestivum

  • Wheat berries

  • Wheat bran, germ/germ oil/germ extract, gluten, grass, malt, or starch

  • Wheat protein/hydrolyzed wheat protein

About This Article

This article is from the book:

About the book authors:

Rusty Gregory has a master’s degree in kinesiology and runs a personal training studio. He is an active contributor to, an emerging leader in publishing health news for consumers, and is the author of Self-Care Reform: How to Discover Your Own Path to Good Health. Alan Chasen has a degree in kinesiology and has run a personal training studio since 1989. He advises his clients on exercise, proper nutrition, and general well-being.

This article can be found in the category: