The WordPress Network Admin Dashboard Site Page

By Lisa Sabin-Wilson

Clicking the Sites menu item on the Network Admin Dashboard takes you to the Sites page in WordPress, where you can manage your individual sites. Although each site in the network has its own Dashboard for basic tasks, such as posting, changing themes, and so on, the Sites page is where you create and delete sites and make edits to properties of the sites within your network. Editing information from this page is handy when you have issues accessing a site’s Dashboard.

The Sites page also lists all the sites within your network. The listing shows the following statistics about each community site:

  • Path: The site’s path in your network. For example, you see a site listed with the path: newsite. This means that the site’s domain is newsite.yourdomain.com if you are using a subdomain setup, or yoursite.com/newsite if you are using a subdirectory setup.

  • Last Updated: The date the site was last updated (or published to).

  • Registered: The date the site was registered in your network.

  • Users: The username and email address associated with the user(s) of that site.

    Individual site management options on the Sites page.

    Individual site management options on the Sites page.

When you hover your mouse pointer over the path name of a site in your network, you see a handy listing of links that help you manage the site. The options that appear underneath a site listing when you hover on a site name in the list include:

  • Edit: A link to the Edit Site page, where you can change aspects of each site.

  • Dashboard: A link to the Dashboard of the site.

  • Deactivate: Click this link to mark the site for deletion in your network. After clicking the Deactivate link, a message appears in a pop-up window that asks you to confirm your intention to deactivate the site. Click the Yes button to confirm. The user’s site displays a message stating that the site has been deleted. This action can be reversed by revisiting the Sites page and clicking the Activate link that appears underneath the site pathname. (The Activate link appears underneath only sites that are marked as Deactivated.)

  • Archive: Click this link to archive the site in your network, which prevents it from being viewed by visitors. The user’s site displays a message stating This site has been archived or suspended. This action can be reversed by revisiting the Sites page and clicking the Unarchive link that appears underneath the site’s pathname. (The Unarchive link appears underneath only sites that are marked as Archived.)

  • Spam: Clicking this link marks the site as spam and blocks the users from being able to access the Dashboard. It also displays a message stating This site has been archived or suspended. This action can be reversed by revisiting the Sites page and clicking the Not Spam link that appears underneath the site’s pathname. (The Not Spam link appears underneath only sites that are marked as Spam.)

  • Delete: Click this link to delete the site from your network of sites permanently. Although you see a confirmation screen that asks you to confirm your intention to delete the site, after you’ve done it, you cannot reverse this decision.

  • Visit: Click this link to visit the live site in your web browser.

    The Edit Site page.

    The Edit Site page.

Generally, you use the Edit Site page only when the settings are unavailable from the Dashboard of that particular site, by configuring the options that appear underneath each of the four tabs on the Edit Sites page:

  • Info: Under this tab, you can edit the site’s domain, path, registered date, updated date, and attributes (Public, Archived, Spam, Deleted, Mature).

  • Users: Under this tab, you can manage the users that are assigned to the site, as well as add new users to the site under the Add New User section.

  • Themes: Under this tab, you can enable themes for this site. This capability is particularly useful if you have themes that are not Network Enabled because all the themes that are not enabled within your network are listed under the Themes tab, which allows you to enable themes on a per-site basis.

  • Settings: The settings under this tab cover all the database settings for the site that you are editing. You will rarely, if ever, need to edit these settings because as the Network Admin, you have access to each user’s Dashboard and should be able to make any changes to the site’s configuration settings there.

Also in the Sites menu on the Network Admin Dashboard, you see a link called Add New — click that link to load the Add New Site page on your Network Admin Dashboard. You can create a new site from the Add New Site page. Fill in the Site Address, Site Title, and Admin Email fields and then click the Add Site button to add the new site to your network

If the Admin Email you entered is associated with an existing user, the new site is assigned to that user in your network. If the user doesn’t exist, a new user is created and an email is sent with a notification. The site is immediately accessible. The user receives an email containing a link to his site, a login link, and his username and password.

The Add New Site page on the Network Admin Dashboard.

The Add New Site page on the Network Admin Dashboard.