for dummies store - a Wiley Brand
  • Print
  • Share
Red Hat Fedora Linux 2 All-in-One Desk Reference For Dummies (0764577522) cover image

Red Hat Fedora Linux 2 All-in-One Desk Reference For Dummies

ISBN: 978-0-7645-7752-9
888 pages
July 2004
How to read this e-book on:
Adobe e-books are read using Adobe Digital Editions. Install Adobe Digital Editions on your PC in order to read or transfer your e-book.

Book I: Fedora Basics.

Chapter 1: Introducing Fedora Core.

Chapter 2: Installing Fedora Core.

Chapter 3: Troubleshooting and Configuring Fedora Core.

Chapter 4: Trying Out Fedora Core.

Chapter 5: Cool Fedora Core Install Projects.

Book II: Workstations and Applications.

Chapter 1: Exploring the GUI Desktops.

Chapter 2: Learning the Shell.

Chapter 3: Navigating the Linux File System.

Chapter 4: Exploring Fedora Core Applications.

Chapter 5: Using Text Editors.

Book III:

Chapter 1: Writing with Writer.

Chapter 2: Preparing Spreadsheets with Calc.

Chapter 3: Making Presentations with Impress.

Chapter 4: Drawing with Draw.

Book IV: Networking.

Chapter 1: Connecting to the Internet.

Chapter 2: Setting Up a Local Area Network.

Chapter 3: Adding a Wireless Ethernet LAN.

Chapter 4: Managing the Network.

Chapter 5: Cool Networking Projects.

Book V: Internet.

Chapter 1: Exchanging E-Mail and Instant Messages.

Chapter 2: Using the Web.

Chapter 3: Reading Newsgroups.

Chapter 4: Transferring Files with FTP.

Book VI: Administration.

Chapter 1: Performing Basic System Administration.

Chapter 2: Managing Users.

Chapter 3: Managing the File System.

Chapter 4: Managing Applications.

Chapter 5: Managing Devices and Printers.

Chapter 6: Upgrading and Customizing the Kernel.

Book VII: Security.

Chapter 1: Understanding Network and Host Security.

Chapter 2: Securing the Host.

Chapter 3: Securing the Network.

Chapter 4: Performing Security Audits.

Book VIII: Internet Servers.

Chapter 1: Managing the Servers.

Chapter 2: Running the Apache Web Server.

Chapter 3: Setting Up the FTP Server.

Chapter 4: Serving Up Mail and News.

Chapter 5: Setting Up DNS.

Chapter 6: Running Samba and NFS.

Book IX: Programming.

Chapter 1: Fedora Core Programming Essentials.

Chapter 2: Programming in C.

Chapter 3: Writing Shell Scripts.

Chapter 4: Programming in Perl.

Appendix: About the DVD.


  • Print
  • Share