Windows XP Boot Files for the A+ Certification Exams

Part of the A+ Certification All-In-One For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Windows XP requires four core files to boot the computer. You will need to understand what they are on your A+ Certification exam. The four core files are:

  • ntldr: Operating system loader code

  • boot.ini: Builds the operating system selection menu

  • Performs hardware detection

  • ntoskrnl.exe: Core kernel code responsible for tasks such as thread management

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus