Gluten is a protein found in some cereals. Listed here are those you need to avoid. Anything derived from these cereals (such as, flours, bread and other baked goods, pasta and so on), or products using them in manufacture (such as, sauces and most beers, lagers and stouts) will contain gluten.

  • Wheat (durum, semolina, spelt, bulgur, wheat flour, wheat starch and modified wheat starch, couscous, wheat rusk, wheat bran, wheat germ)

  • Rye

  • Barley

  • Triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye)

Note: Codex wheat starch, as used in many gluten-free products, contains a low level of gluten which is safe for most coeliacs.