Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

The Historical Periods of Britain

Part of the British History For Dummies Cheat Sheet

The history of Britain is usually divided by historians into a series of periods. This list gives you some of the highlights of each period.

Ancient Britain

  • Neolithic Britain c12,000 BC–c2,750 BC

  • The Beaker people and the Bronze Age c2,750 BC–750 BC

  • Iron Age and La Tène culture c750 BC–43 AD

  • Roman Britain 43 AD–410

The Middle Ages

  • Anglo–Saxon raids and settlement 449–c550

  • Separate Anglo–Saxon Kingdoms c550–924

  • Anglo–Saxon England united 924–1066

  • Danish rule 1016–1042

  • Norman period 1066–1154

  • The Anarchy 1135–1148

  • The Plantagenets 1154–1399

  • Conquest of Ireland begins 1155

  • Scottish Wars of Independence 1296–1357

  • Hundred Years War with France 1337–1453

  • Wars of the Roses 1455–1485

Early Modern Britain

  • Tudor period 1485–1603

  • English Reformation begins 1532

  • Union of Crowns of England and Scotland 1603

  • Expansion into America begins 1620

  • Civil Wars and Revolution 1642–1660

  • Royal Society incorporated 1662

  • Revolution Settlement 1688–9 and Union of England and Scotland 1707 create basis of modern British state

The Modern Age

  • Changes in agriculture begin 1730s

  • Beginnings of industrialisation 1770s–1780s

  • Wars in America and with France help to unify British state 1770s–1815

  • Victorian Age 1837–1901

  • Great Exhibition marks highpoint of Victorian era 1851

  • Imperial expansion in Africa 1880s–1890s

  • Great War 1914–1918

  • Second World War 1939–1945

  • Height of industrial unrest 1960s–1980s

  • Britain within the European Union 1970s–2000s

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus

British History For Dummies Cheat Sheet


Inside Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.