Children's Books with Lots of Words
How to Conduct Research for Writing Children's Books
Baby and Toddler-Friendly Books with Lots of Pictures

Ten Recognitions Children's Authors Dream of Receiving

Book prizes and awards look good on your living room wall and help you sell your book. The following list fills you in on some of the best annual book prizes.

Newbery Medal

Sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, the Newbery Medal is awarded each year to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year by the Library Service to Children to the illustrator of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Coretta Scott King Book Award

The Coretta Scott King Award is presented each year to honor the authors and illustrators of outstanding books about the African-American experience written for children.

Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature is given each year to the best book written for teenage readers.

Belpré Medal

The Belpré Medal is awarded each year to the Latino or Latina author and illustrator whose work of children’s literature “best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience.”

Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is awarded each year by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of “the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.”

Stonewall Book Award

The Stonewall Book Award-Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award is awarded by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) Round Table of the American Library Association. This award is presented each year to the author(s) of a book of “exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.”

Sibert Medal

Each year, the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is given to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of “the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.”

ALA Quick Pick

The purpose of this honor is to highlight fiction and nonfiction books “aimed at encouraging reading among teens who dislike to read for whatever reason.”

Texas Bluebonnet Award

Being nominated for a state book award — especially the Texas Bluebonnet Award — can help an author sell tens of thousands of books. And you don’t even have to win; you just have to get on the master list.

blog comments powered by Disqus
How to Set Up Your Workspace for Writing Children's Books
Children's Books Genres
Walk through the Illustration Process for Children's Books
More Than Ten Great Sources for Storylines
What Kids Consider Funny