Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

RAID Types for the A+ Certification Exams

Part of the A+ Certification All-In-One For Dummies Cheat Sheet

RAID (Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks) is a method of implementing redundancy (duplicated information) on your hard drives — if one disk fails, the other disk(s) can provide the missing information. There are many different levels of RAID, but the following are the only RAID levels pertinent to the A+ exams:

  • RAID 0: Disk striping (striped volume). With RAID level 0, the data is split across drives with no data redundancy. RAID level 0 improves read and write performance by writing to multiple drives at the same time. You need a minimum of two drives.

  • RAID 1: Disk mirroring/duplexing (mirrored volume). With disk mirroring, the data is written to both drives involved in the mirror to provide data redundancy. Windows 7 supports disk mirroring.

  • RAID 5: Disk striping with parity (RAID 5 volume). With RAID 5 volumes, the data is written to multiple drives along with parity information that is used to help recover data if a single drive fails. RAID 5 volumes need a minimum of three disks.

  • RAID 10: Mirrored disk striping. RAID level 10 is also known as RAID 1+0 because it is disk striping while mirroring the data written in the stripe.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus

A+ Certification All-In-One For Dummies Cheat Sheet


Inside Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.