Advertisement
Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
eLearning
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

Ingredients to Question on a Gluten-free Diet

Part of the Living Gluten-Free For Dummies Cheat Sheet (UK Edition)

Gluten can be found in some of the ingredients added to processed foods. Make sure you have a complete and accurate list of gluten-containing ingredients. With some ingredients you may to find out more about their source or consult an up to date Gluten-free Food and Drink Directory (such as that produced by Coeliac UK) before deciding whether a product containing it is gluten-free.

  • Oats and oat bran (may be contaminated during harvesting , storage or processing. May not be tolerated by some coeliacs. Always consult your healthcare team before introducing oats into your diet).

  • Malt and malt extract (usually made from barley and contains gluten; fine if derived from corn or rice).

  • Soy sauce (usually contains wheat).

  • Starch fillers (occasionally the starch filler in medications is derived from wheat).

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win an iPad Mini. Enter to win now!