How to Remove and Edit Facebook Updates and Comments - dummies

How to Remove and Edit Facebook Updates and Comments

By Jamie Crager, Scott Ayres, Melanie Nelson, Daniel Herndon, Jesse Stay

You may find yourself rethinking something you shared on Facebook and wanting to remove it. Perhaps, as you update your timeline, you want to remove some past updates as your circle of friends grows or your life changes. Or maybe you commented on someone’s status update and you wish you’d been a little more eloquent.

Although you can delete comments (yours as well as those from others on your updates), think first about your reasons for doing so. Social media is about sharing and accessibility. It’s about discourse and presenting all sides of a story or an issue.

Ideally, that discourse will be respectful, but sometimes it gets out of hand. No one likes to have his or her voice (or, in this case, comment) removed, but sometimes that action is best to keep the peace. On the other hand, if you remove a comment (either yours or someone else’s), be prepared for the possibility of being called out for censoring the conversation.

Your timeline is your space, and you decide what is appropriate for that space. It’s important to explain your stance to your circle of friends so they understand your point of view. Remember, though, that when you post content to Facebook, you’re inviting people to interact with you and share their opinions. If you remove comments you disagree with, others may not feel welcome to comment on your updates.

If you administrate a business page, removing comments becomes an even bigger issue. Some businesses remove inflammatory or unflattering comments, but that can be a mistake. Your customers expect your business page to be a place where they can interact with you — both positively and negatively. If you whitewash your Facebook business page, allowing good comments and deleting anything questionable, your followers and fans will rebel.

If you find that you really do need to edit a status update or remove a status update or comment, follow these instructions:

  1. Find the status update or comment on your timeline (or go to your timeline and click the Activity Log button).

  2. Click the arrow in the top-left corner and select edit or delete.

  3. Edit or delete a comment as follows:

    • To remove your own comment: Click the pencil icon and choose Edit or Delete.

    • To remove a comment from someone else: Click the X.

When you delete a post or comment, it’s permanently deleted. You can’t get it back. If you don’t want to permanently delete a post, you can always change its share settings or hide it from your timeline instead.