How to Activate the Hide Alerts Feature for iPhone Group Messaging - dummies

How to Activate the Hide Alerts Feature for iPhone Group Messaging

By Dwight Spivey

If you want to start a conversation on your iPhone with a group of people, you can use group messaging. Group messaging is great for keeping several people in the conversational loop.

With iOS 8 came a lot of group messaging functionality, including the following features:

  • When you participate in a group message, you see all participants in the Details for the message. You can drop people whom you don’t want to include any longer and leave the conversation yourself when you want to by simply tapping Details, then tapping Leave This Conversation.
  • When you turn on Hide Alerts in the Details in a message, you won’t get notifications of messages from this group, but you can still read the group’s messages at a later time (this also works for individuals).

group messaging iPhone

If you’re intrigued, go to Apple’s website for more information.

If you don’t want to get notifications of new messages from an individual or group for a while, you can use the Hide Alerts feature.

  1. With a message open, tap Details.
  2. Tap the Hide Alerts switch to turn the feature on.
  3. Later, return to Details and tap the Hide Alerts switch again to turn the feature off.

If you don’t want to get notifications of new messages from an individual or group for a while, you can use the Hide Alerts feature.

  1. With a message open, tap Details.
  2. Tap the Hide Alerts switch to turn the feature on.
  3. Later, return to Details and tap the Hide Alerts switch again to turn the feature off.