Advanced Settings for Your Instagram Photos

By Jennifer Herman, Eric Butow, Corey Walker

Below the Instagram caption box are five options to identify people in your photo, add a location to your photo, share your photo on other social networks, and turn commenting on and off (under the Advanced Settings link at the bottom).

Tagging people

When you tag people, you add their Instagram usernames to your photo so they know that you posted a photo with them in it. Instagram enables you to tag up to 20 people in a single photo. To tag a person in your photo, do the following:

  1. On the New Post (or Followers) screen, tap Tag People.

    The Tag People screen appears.

  2. Tap the photo to tag.
    The Search screen appears.
  3. In the Search for a Name box, type the name of the person you want to tag, and then tap the Search key in the keyboard.
    A list of people appears below the box.
  4. Swipe up and down in the list until you find the person you want to tag, and then tap the person’s name.

    You can tag only people who appear in the list.

  5. Repeat this process to tag more people.
  6. When you’ve finished tagging people, tap Done in the upper-right corner of the screen.

Be sure that you tag only people who are in the photo. If you tag someone who isn’t in the photo, the tagged person may report you to Instagram, and then you may be subject to “deleted content, disabled accounts, or other restrictions” per Instagram’s Community Guidelines. However, if the photo contains a logo or product, you can tag the brand or company associated with the product or logo.

Adding your location to Instagram photos

You can include your current location in the photo’s description. Tap Add Location. Your smartphone or tablet asks if the Instagram app can use your location if it’s the first time you are adding a location. Tap Allow in the pop-up window to continue.

In the Locations screen that appears, swipe up and down in the list of nearby locations. If you don’t find your location, tap the Search box at the top of the screen and start typing. As you type, results that most closely match your search term(s) appear in the list. When you find the location in the list, tap the location name.

If you want to delete the location, tap the delete icon (X) to the right of the location. After you delete the location, you see Add Location again on the screen.

After you allow the Instagram app to use your location, the next time you open the New Post (or Followers) window, you’ll see a row of potential locations below Add Location. Swipe up in the row to view more locations. Tap the location name to select it as your location. You can still add a location by tapping Add Location and either selecting a location from the list or by typing the location in the Search box and then selecting the location in the list.

Facebook

Tap the dot to toggle the Facebook switch from left to right to log into Facebook and post your photo to your Facebook newsfeed as well as to Instagram. If this is the first time you’re posting to Facebook, you’ll be asked to allow Facebook to access your Instagram account.

If your shared post links to your personal account, the post is shared only with your Facebook friends. When your shared post links to your business account, the post is shared with the people who follow your Facebook business profile.

Twitter

If you want to tweet the same Instagram photo you’re preparing, tap the dot to toggle the Twitter switch from left to right to log into your Twitter account. After you log in, you can share your photo and caption in a tweet. Remember that Twitter will cut off any caption that exceeds 280 characters. If this is the first time you are posting to Twitter from Instagram, you will have to allow Twitter access to your account.

Tumblr

You can post your photo to your Tumblr account as well by tapping the Tumblr dot to toggle from left to right. Tumblr opens so you can log into your account, and then you return to Instagram. When you share your photo and related information in Instagram, you’ll share it to your Tumblr feed as well.

You have to tap the toggle dot every time you want to share on Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.

Turning commenting on and off

Before you share your photo, you may not want to take the time to read or respond to comments. You can block your followers from leaving comments about your photo. Begin by tapping the Advanced Settings option at the bottom of the New Post screen. In the Advanced Settings screen, tap the Turn Off Commenting dot to toggle from left to right. To return to the New Post screen, tap the left arrow in the upper-left corner.