Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

Wheat-Free Doesn’t Mean Gluten-Free

7 of 11 in Series: The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free

You may see lots of labels proudly declaring a product to be wheat-free (some of which, like spelt and kamut, aren’t really wheat-free at all). That doesn’t mean the food’s gluten free.

Gluten is in wheat, but it’s also in rye and barley — and most people on a gluten-free diet don’t eat oats, either. So something can be wheat-free but still have other gluten-containing ingredients, like malt, which is usually derived from barley. In that case, the product’s wheat-free, but it’s not gluten-free.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus

The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free


Inside Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.