Web Sites to Help Do-It-Yourself Web Designers

Part of the Web Sites Do-It-Yourself For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Use this handy reference to find Web sites to help you with the many aspects of Web design. Next to each Web site name is its address, which you can click to point your browser to that site.

Software for Web site design

Adobe Photoshop, www.adobe.com/photoshop

Adobe Photoshop Elements, www.adobe.com/photoshopelements

Adobe Dreamweaver, www.adobe.com/dreamweaver

Google Analytics, Google’s free traffic-tracking service, www.google.com/analytics

FireFTP, free ftp program, http://fireftp.mozdev.org

WS_FTP, professional FTP program for Windows, www.ipswitch.com

CuteFTP, free ftp program for Windows, www.cuteftp.com

Fetch, Great FTP program for Macintosh, www.fetchsoftworks.com

Blogging programs

Blogger, www.blogger.com

Joomla, more than just a blogging solution, Joomla is an open-source content management system (CMS), Joomla.org

Movable Type, www.movabletype.com

TypePad, www.typepad.com

WordPress, www.wordpress.com

Domain registration and hosting services

1&1, www.1and1.com

Domain, www.domain.com

GoDaddy, www.godaddy.com

Network Solutions, www.networksolutions.com

Rackspace Professional Web Hosting, Rackspace.com

Video and animation software and services

Flash Arcade, flash showcase www.flasharcade.com

Flash Kit, flash tools www.flashkit.com

QuickTime, www.quicktime.com

Windows Media, by Microsoft www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia

Vimeo, video hosting service, www.vimeo.com

YouTube, video social networking site, www.youtube.com

Audio and podcasting services

Audacity, free audio recording and editing program, http://audacity.sourceforge.net

Gcast, free service, www.gcast.com

iTunes, podcasting, music, movies, and more from Apple www.itunes.com

My Podcast Recorder, free download, www.MyPodcast.com

Podcast Alley, www.podcastalley.com

Podcast Network, www.thepodcastnetwork.com

Podcasting Tools, www.podcasting-tools.com

SolidCasts, free service, www.solidcasts.com

Advertising networks

Chitika, search-targeted advertising network www.chitika.com

Commission Junction, affiliate advertising, www.CommissionJunction.com

Google AdSense, www.google.com/adsense

LinkShare Affiliate Advertising, www.linkshare.com

Amazon Associates, affiliate ads and product links, https://affiliate-program.amazon.com/

Ecommerce Services

Google Checkout, offers simple ‘buy now’ buttons and shopping cart, www.google.com/sell

PayPal, International payment service with buy now buttons and shopping cart integration, www.paypal.com

Yahoo! Merchant Solutions, one of the largest providers of ecommerce on the Web, store.yahoo.com

Sell on Amazon, offers a range of ecommerce services, www.amazonservices.com/content/sell-on-amazon.htm

PayLoadz, specialized ecommerce service for selling digital goods, such as videos and ebooks, www.payloadz.com

ProStores, eBay’s ecommerce service, www.prostores.com

Traffic Reporting Services

Google Analytics, the most popular traffic tracking service and it’s free www.google.com/analytics

Clicky, www.getclicky.com

Yahoo! Web Analytics, http://web.analytics.yahoo.com

AWStats, http://awstats.sourceforge.net

Piwik, www.piwik.org

Web Browsers

Microsoft Internet Explorer, www.microsoft.com/ie

Mozilla Firefox, www.firefox.com

Apple Safari (Mac only), www.apple.com/safari

Google Chrome, www.google.com/chrome

Browser Archive, http://browsers.evolt.org/

Web Browser Online Testing Services

Adobe Browser Labs, https://browserlab.adobe.com

Browsershots, www.browsershots.org

Cross Browser Testing, www.crossbrowsertesting.com

Xenocode Browser Sandbox, www.xenocode.com/Browsers

Where to learn more about Web design

DigitalFamily.com, www.digitalfamily.com

JCWarner.com, www.jcwarner.com

ArtesianMedia.com, www.artesianmedia.com

blog comments powered by Disqus

SERIES
Web Sites Do-It-Yourself For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.