Advertisement
Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
eLearning
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

The Main Foods to Avoid on a Gluten-Free Diet

Part of the Living Gluten-Free For Dummies Cheat Sheet (UK Edition)

Gluten is a protein found in some cereals. Listed here are those you need to avoid. Anything derived from these cereals (such as, flours, bread and other baked goods, pasta and so on), or products using them in manufacture (such as, sauces and most beers, lagers and stouts) will contain gluten.

  • Wheat (durum, semolina, spelt, bulgur, wheat flour, wheat starch and modified wheat starch, couscous, wheat rusk, wheat bran, wheat germ)

  • Rye

  • Barley

  • Triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye)

Note: Codex wheat starch, as used in many gluten-free products, contains a low level of gluten which is safe for most coeliacs.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win an iPad Mini. Enter to win now!