The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free

Eating gluten-free involves more than just avoiding wheat. Other grains — rye, barley, and triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye) — contain gluten, and because of the way oats are processed, they’re a food to be avoided as well. To be gluten-free, you need to take anything made with gluten-containing ingredients, such as malt (made from barley), out of your diet.

Common Foods that Contain Gluten

Things with flour in them (white or wheat) are the most common culprits when you’re avoiding gluten. The following foods are among the more obvious edibles and beverages that are gluten packed: [more…]

Gluten in Foods You Wouldn't Suspect

Gluten lurks in foods that you may guess are gluten free. You know to avoid pastries, but you may not think about looking for gluten in candy. However, you have to look long and hard to find gluten-free [more…]

Safe Foods for Gluten-Free Diets

If you're on a gluten-free diet, you need to know what foods are safe to eat. Gluten-free foods are not hard to find — if you know what to include on your shopping list. [more…]

Leave These Foods Out of Your Gluten-Free Eating

The key to a gluten-free diet is knowing what to avoid — whether you're dining out or making meals at home. Luckily, the list of forbidden foods for a gluten-free diet is a lot shorter than the list of [more…]

Foods to Question about Gluten Content

To be safe, you need to question everything for gluten. (You may not think to question the ingredients in tea, but at least one brand contains barley malt.) Some ingredients aren’t so clear, because sometimes [more…]

“Gluten-Free” May Not Mean 100 Percent

A product that's labeled gluten-free isn’t necessarily 100 percent gluten-free. A food may actually have minute traces of gluten, but as long as those traces are truly small, the product may sometimes [more…]

Wheat-Free Doesn’t Mean Gluten-Free

You may see lots of labels proudly declaring a product to be wheat-free (some of which, like spelt and kamut, aren’t really wheat-free at all). That doesn’t mean the food’s gluten free. [more…]

Gluten-Free Flours Provide Healthy Alternatives

A variety of alternative flours are available these days — a very good thing if you’re avoiding gluten in your diet. Health food stores, Asian markets, and even many mainstream groceries offer a large [more…]

How to Pick Acceptable Grains for Gluten-Free Diets

The list of grains forbidden to you if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance is a lot shorter than the list of grains you can eat. That's the good news. [more…]

How to Eat Out on a Gluten-Free Diet

Dining out on a gluten-free diet can be scary; you don’t know for sure if your foods are cross-contaminated or what ingredients actually go into them. However, you can ensure that your restaurant experience [more…]

How to Snack Gluten-Free

Your gluten-free diet can satisfy your appetite for snacks — whether you're looking for guilty indulgences or healthy nibbles between meals. Although you still need to check ingredients carefully, gluten-free [more…]

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com