Safe Foods for Gluten-Free Diets
3 of 11 in Series: The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free
If you're on a gluten-free diet, you need to know what foods are safe to eat. Gluten-free foods are not hard to find — if you know what to include on your shopping list.
Grains and starches you can eat safely
You have lots of choices for gluten-free grains and starches. Even if you’re an old pro who’s been gluten-free for years, some of these may be new to you:
Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, besan, cici, chana, or gram — not to be confused with graham, which does have gluten)
Montina (Indian ricegrass)
Oats (but they may be contaminated with wheat and other grains)
Tapioca (gari, cassava, casaba, manioc, yucca)
Glutinous rice does not contain gluten! Manufacturers make glutinous rice, or sweet rice or mochi, by grinding high-starch, short-grain rice. Glutinous rice thickens sauces and desserts in Asian cooking and is often the rice used in sushi.
Other gluten-free foods
In general, the following foods are gluten-free, as long as they're purchased without seasoning or additives:
These foods are naturally gluten-free. You can buy specialty products, such as cookies, cakes, brownies, breads, crackers, pretzels, and other products made with gluten-free ingredients.