Safe Foods for Gluten-Free Diets

3 of 11 in Series: The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free

If you're on a gluten-free diet, you need to know what foods are safe to eat. Gluten-free foods are not hard to find — if you know what to include on your shopping list.

Grains and starches you can eat safely

You have lots of choices for gluten-free grains and starches. Even if you’re an old pro who’s been gluten-free for years, some of these may be new to you:

  • Amaranth

  • Arrowroot

  • Beans

  • Buckwheat/groats/kasha

  • Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, besan, cici, chana, or gram — not to be confused with graham, which does have gluten)

  • Corn

  • Garfava

  • Job’s Tears

  • Mesquite (pinole)

  • Millet

  • Montina (Indian ricegrass)

  • Oats (but they may be contaminated with wheat and other grains)

  • Potato

  • Quinoa (hie)

  • Ragi

  • Rice

  • Sorghum

  • Soy

  • Tapioca (gari, cassava, casaba, manioc, yucca)

  • Taro root

  • Teff

Glutinous rice does not contain gluten! Manufacturers make glutinous rice, or sweet rice or mochi, by grinding high-starch, short-grain rice. Glutinous rice thickens sauces and desserts in Asian cooking and is often the rice used in sushi.

Other gluten-free foods

In general, the following foods are gluten-free, as long as they're purchased without seasoning or additives:

  • Beans

  • Dairy products

  • Eggs

  • Fish

  • Fruit

  • Legumes

  • Meat

  • Nuts

  • Poultry

  • Seafood

  • Vegetables

These foods are naturally gluten-free. You can buy specialty products, such as cookies, cakes, brownies, breads, crackers, pretzels, and other products made with gluten-free ingredients.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus

SERIES
The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free

Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.