Recognizing Wheat's Many Pseudonyms

Part of the Living Wheat-Free For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Spotting wheat in an ingredients list can be more difficult than it may appear. Wheat has many different forms and names and can appear multiple times in the same list. Acquainting yourself with the following list as you start your new lifestyle makes your trip to the grocery store much easier. As you become more comfortable with your wheat-free lifestyle, you'll develop a repertoire of go-to foods, and this list will become less important.

  • Barley grass (because of cross-contamination)

  • Bulgur (a form of wheat)

  • Durum, durum flour, durum wheat

  • Einkorn

  • Emmer

  • Farina

  • Flour (including all-purpose, cake, enriched, graham, high-protein or high-gluten, and pastry)

  • Farro

  • Fu

  • Kamut

  • Seitan (made from wheat gluten and commonly used in vegetarian meals)

  • Semolina

  • Spelt

  • Sprouted wheat

  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)

  • Triticum aestivum

  • Wheat berries

  • Wheat bran, germ/germ oil/germ extract, gluten, grass, malt, or starch

  • Wheat protein/hydrolyzed wheat protein

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus

SERIES
Living Wheat-Free For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com